By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts. View our Privacy Policy for more information.

The 2022 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Was a Night to Remember!

July 20, 2022

The Infinity Park Event Center in Glendale, Colorado was the site for this past weekend’s 2022 US Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony. It was the perfect setting for this year’s function. And what a night it was!

This year’s Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony was our second largest to date as over 300 well-wishers were on hand to honor this year’s US Rugby Hall of Fame inductees: Steve Cohen, Phillip Eloff, Gary Hein, Maryanne Sorensen, Zack Test, Mose Timoteo and Blane Warhurst. Also being recognized were Craig Sweeney Award recipient, Tim O’Brien; Lifetime Achievement Award recipients, Fred Alexander and Alan Sharpley, and 2022 Prusmack Award recipients, Lindenwood University’s Sativa Tarau-Peehikuru and Life University’s Darius Law. In addition to heartfelt speeches from this year’s honorees, the evening also included a slideshow of all past Hall of Fame inductees, introductory video clips of all of this year’s honorees (thank you John and Kevin Morgan), and a moving In Memoriam piece.

View In Memoriam Video

Along with family and friends of those being recognized, those in the audience included past and present US Eagles players Luke Gross, Paul Emerick, Sarah Chobot, Bill Leversee, Steve Finkel, Ed Burlingham, Tim O’Brien, Tom Billups, Brett Thompson, Tara Flanagan, Cassie Law, KJ Johnson, Mike Purcell, Paddy Ryan, Dylan Fawsitt, Dave Hodges, Jan Rutkowski, Liz Kirk, Marie Hahler, Morgan Whitehead, Ben Pinkelman, Denis Shanagher, JP Eloff, David Skidmore, Zack Fenoglio, Eric Swanson, Mark Sawicki, Victoria Foyalan, Brad Andrews, Brian Vizard, Chris Lippert, Jamie Burke, Colin Hawley, Jean Grobler, Ryan Matyas, Shalom Suniula, Danny Barrett, Shawn Lipman, Ben Hough, Blaine Scully, Don James, Tony Ridnell, Kitt Wagner, Mike Purcell, Pat Johnson, Eddie Schram, Andre Bachelet, Steve Hiatt, Rich Schurfeld, Wayne Chai, Tim Peterson, Scott Jones, Dave Williams, Olivia Ortiz and Matt Schmitz.

In addition, former US Eagles coaches Ray Cornbill and George Betzler, and US Age-Grade coaches Salty Thompson and Rick Humm were in attendance. So too were former US team doctor John Chase and former US Eagle Managers Tristan Lewis and Sarah Sall.  

Past Hall of Famers in attendance were Luke Gross, Steve Finkel, Ed Burlingham, Dave Hodges, Tim O’Brien, Tom Billups, Chris Lippert, Brad Andrews, Shawn Lipman, Mike Purcell, Tristan Lewis, Ray Cornbill, George Betzler, Dick Smith, Brian Vizard, Bob Watkins, Terry Fleener, Jim Russell, Jamie Burke, Dr. Lyle Micheli, Dr. John Chase, Don Haider, Salty Thompson, John Decker,  Anne Barry and representing her late husband, Don Morrison, Trudy Morrison. We also welcomed Ross Young, USA Rugby CEO, Tom Cusack, Chair, USA Rugby Board of Directors, Bob Latham, World Rugby Executive Committee member, Alan Gilpin, World Rugby Chief Executive Officer, and Chair of Chilean Rugby Union, Cristian Rudloff. Couldn’t make it to this year’s US Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony? Don’t fret as the US Rugby Foundation is streaming this year’s US Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony in its entirety on The Rugby Network on July 23rd at 8 pm EST, 5 pm PST.

Watch LIVE, FREE & ON DEMAND on The Rugby Network.

Sign Up For FreeThe US Rugby Foundation thanks the RugbyTown National Training Center for sponsoring this year’s Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony.

View The 2022 Hall of Fame ProgramSee you next year!