By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts. View our Privacy Policy for more information.

Over 30 Past U.S. Eagles and U.S. Rugby Hall of Famers to Attend this Year’s Induction Dinner

May 29, 2018

Join in the fun and help welcome in the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Class of 2018 San Diego, CA (April 2, 2018) – The United States Rugby Foundation and USA Rugby invite you to join them in helping honor the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Class of 2018 at this year’s U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Dinner. The seven newest members of the United States Rugby Hall of Fame will be inducted on Friday, June 15, 2018 in Houston at the Hall of Fame Induction Dinner being held the day before the U.S. Men’s National Team face Scotland. A table for 10 can be purchased for $1,750, individual seats can be purchased for $200, while individual student (18 years old and younger) registration can be purchased for $100. A portion of each individual and table purchase will be considered tax-deductible. This year’s dinner will be held at the Hilton Americas Houston Hotel.A cocktail reception, sponsored by MaxEn Capital, will take place from 6:00-7:00 p.m., Dinner from 7:00-8:00 p.m., with the Induction Ceremony to follow. Always a major fundraiser for the U.S. Rugby Foundation’s youth rugby programs, this year’s U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Dinner will once again be a collaboration between the U.S. Rugby Foundation and USA Rugby.“After last year’s successful Hall of Fame Dinner in San Diego, both organizations are looking to see if we can top that effort,” said U.S. Rugby Foundation Executive Director Brian Vizard. “With the Eagles coming off an undefeated ARC and with Scotland climbing to 5th in the world rankings, we expect a good crowd for the match, and hopefully many of those rugby fans who are in Houston for the match will want to help welcome this very deserving group into the Hall of Fame.”The U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Class of 2018 includes past U.S. Eagle players Gary Lambert, Mike Saunders and Alexandra “Alex” Williams; former U.S. Eagles and OMBAC head coach, Reldon “Bing” Dawson; former U.S. Men’s National Team physician, Dr. John Chase; pioneering referee, the late Denis Shanagher Sr.; and long-serving rugby administrator, Don Haider.In addition to those past U.S. Eagles mentioned above, the following U.S. players and coaches have already confirmed their attendance at this year’s induction dinner: Brad Andrews, Bob Causey, Eric Swanson, Steve Finkel, Jan Rutkowski, Mike Purcell, George Betzler, Tony Ridnell, Ed Burlingham, Phiadra Knight, Ray Cornbill, Mike Stanaway, Brian Vizard, Ron Mayes, Dan Lyle, Jeff Lombard, Neal Brendel, Chris Lippert, Jason Wood, Bill Fraumann, Jack Clark, Denis Shanagher, Jason McVeigh and Dave Hodges.Hall of Fame inductees Andrews, Finkel, Purcell, Betzler, Burlingham, Cornbill, Billups, Vizard, Mayes, Lyle, Lombard, Fraumann, Clark and Hodges will be joined in the crowd by fellow Hall of Fame members Bob Watkins, Terry Fleener, Dick Poulson and Dr. Lyle Micheli.Congratulations to the Class of 2018 who are joining the 54 who have already been inducted into the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame. Like the preceding seven classes of inductees, the Class of 2018 have made a lasting mark on United States rugby. The U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame and its Foundation is a 501 c 3 non-profit organization dedicated to preserving the history of U.S. Rugby; supporting the development of the game by funding programs for youth, high school and collegiate rugby; and individual player development programs.