By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts. View our Privacy Policy for more information.

Bob Erwin Crowned Champion of the 2017 I’Maul In No Limit Texas Hold ’em Charity Poker Tournament

March 9, 2017

Las Vegas, NV (March 9, 2017) – Just like the play of the USA Eagles 7s team at this year’s USA Sevens Tournament, play at the 8th annual I’Maul In No Limit Texas Hold ’em Charity Poker Tournament at the Poker Room at the Monte Carlo Hotel & Casino was fast and furious. The only things missing were the Bronze Medals.Over 40 players took part in this fun-filled charity event, sponsored by the Classic Eagles. The field included past U.S. Eagle and 2011 I’Maul In Champion Gary Lambert, along with fellow past Eagles Mike Saunders, Mose Timoteo, Dan Payne, Greg Teliczan, and Brian Vizard. Also on the felt after taking last year off to sharpen his game was Canadian Legend, Al Charron. Defending I’Maul In Champion Todd “Judge Ito” Komori was looking to be the first champion to go back to back and also returning was the player with the greatest name in poker, Rose Angry. You do not want to bluff Rose off a pot or you’ll be sorry!With the top five places cashing, tensions were high as one by one, players dropped by the wayside. They were all vying to win the first place money of over $1,200 and the highly coveted I’Maul In No Limit Texas Hold ’em Poker Tournament crystal trophy.There were some familiar faces at the final table and some that have not been there before as veteran I’Maul In players Matt Eshoo, James Hinkin, Scott Witt, Bob Erwin, Mose Timoteo, Jeff Cliff, Daniel Schneider and Paul Kaler were joined by first year I’Mauliners Michael Royand Parker Bagley.The final five saw Eshoo, joined by Hinkin, Erwin, Cliff and Schneider.The first to cash out was Schneider (with pocket Queens), who took home $150. The next to head to the rail with 4th place money of $268 was Cliff, almost equaling his 3rd place finish of a couple of years back. Down to three, Eshoo, the all-time I’Maul In leading money winner, faced off against Erwin. Pre-flop, Eshoo had the edge holding AJ to Erwin’s A4, but Erwin flopped a straight and Eshoo was sent packing after another long I’Maul In run. For his efforts, he pocketed $429.That set the stage for the heads up battle between Erwin and Hinkin. The battle didn’t last long as Erwin, up way past his bedtime, saw his run of good cards continue. His Big Slick held up on the final hand of the night and with that came the coveted I’Maul In crystal trophy, over $1,200 in prize money and bragging rights for a year. Hinkin took him $715 for his second place finish.Thanks to one and all for taking part in this year’s I’Maul In Tournament.The USRF would like to thank the following for their support of our Vegas events: USA Sevens LLC, Building Infrastructure Group, Canterbury, Tilted Kilt, Classic Eagles and TaylorMade. Proceeds from the USRF I’Maul In and Scrumble events will further the youth and high school programs offered by the USRF.