By clicking “Accept All Cookies”, you agree to the storing of cookies on your device to enhance site navigation, analyze site usage, and assist in our marketing efforts. View our Privacy Policy for more information.

Come See the Webb Ellis Cup at this Year’s U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Dinner

June 1, 2017

“Bill” will be in attendance to help welcome in this year’s star-studded class of inducteesSan Diego, CA (June 1, 2017) – Thanks to USA Rugby and the USA Rugby Trust, the Webb Ellis Cup, the trophy that the 20 best teams in the world will be competing for in Japan at the 2019 Rugby World Cup, will be in attendance at this year’s U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Dinner. “Bill,” the affectionate name given to the Webb Ellis Cup by the Wallabies after winning the 1991 RWC, joins this year’s 10 inductees and dozens of past U.S. Eagles and Hall of Famers at this year’s Induction Dinner. The 10 newest members of the United States Rugby Hall of Fame will be inducted on Friday, June 30, 2017 in San Diego at the Hall of Fame Induction Dinner being held the day before the U.S. Men’s National Team face Canada in the second of two 2019 Rugby World Cup qualifying matches at the University of San Diego’s Toreros Stadium. The dinner will be held at the San Diego Mission Valley Marriott. Individual seats can be purchased for $200, a table for 10 can be purchased for $1,750, while individual student (18 years old and younger) registration can be purchased for $100. A portion of each individual and table purchase will be considered tax deductible.Always a major fundraiser for the U.S. Rugby Foundation’s youth rugby programs, this year’s U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Dinner, a first-time collaboration between the U.S. Rugby Foundation, USA Rugby and USA Rugby Trust, will also benefit the youth rugby programs supported by USA Rugby and the Rugby Trust.The U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Class of 2017 includes the victorious 1991 U.S. Women’s Rugby World Cup Team; past U.S. Eagle players Steve Finkel, Dave Hodges, Tim O’Brien, Candi Orsini, and Tommy Smith; former U.S. Eagles Manager, Ed Schram Sr.; USA Rugby Medical Committee Chairman, Dr. Lyle Micheli; long-serving referee, Jim Russell; and rugby administrator and coach, Jay Waldron.If you are interested in booking a room at the Mission Valley Marriott, please do so by clicking on 2017 U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame Induction Dinner Room Block or by calling 800-228-9290 and reference you are with the United States Rugby Foundation.The U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame and its Foundation is a 501 c 3 non-profit organization dedicated to preserving the history of U.S. Rugby; supporting the development of the game by funding programs for youth, high school and collegiate rugby; and individual player development programs.